Tags

,

Thrift is the art of saving money. Frugal, providence, economical, austerity, all mean the same thing as thrift. I hope it is something that I taught you really well. My mother passed providence on to me. As did her mother.

We women must be frugal because sometimes the men in our lives . . . well . . . they like gadgets. There is nothing wrong with that as long as they can easily afford it.

We, on the other hand, fret over future financial security. Not that we don’t trust our spouses. But we are natural worriers. And that is where the need for austerity comes in.

Saving money can take many different forms. Like sewing clothing for the family. Knitting or crocheting hats, gloves, sweaters, and socks. Cooking from scratch.

And whatever money your husband gives you (or you earn) but do not spend all of, put it away in a safe place. Nest eggs are nice. Even if they are tiny. When you find yourself in a financial pinch –and life gives us plenty of those– you will be glad for your thrifty ways.

Now, I’m off to JoAnn with a 60% off coupon. I plan to buy a sharpener for my rotary fabric cutter. And pick up a few other much-needed things.

That’s how I save money!

Lovingly,
¸.♥´Mom

