Tags

, ,

The very first sweet I was ever allowed to bake and without too much help from Mother or anyone else –except for the oven part– was Snickerdoodles!

I was eager to impress my family with my skills. Because that’s what you do for the people you love. You cook them good food.

I served the first batch of snickerdoodles on a plate to Father and his friend Mr. Dodd who was visiting for the day.

Father called me his Little Pumpkin and told me he’d have his cookies later.

The guest, being the polite person he was, wanted his right away.

I still remember the look on Mr. Dodd’s face when he bit into that cookie. That’s how I’d discovered I’d put too much salt in the dough. It sent a salt-shiver down his spine!

Looking back, Mr. Dodd wasn’t smart enough to pick up on Father’s cookie deferral.

Neither was I.

And being too young to feel truly embarrassed about my mistake I did what any 8-year-old would do. I went outside to play!

I still make cooking mistakes sometimes. But nothing like the snickerdoodle disaster.

Here you go Dears . . . 

Gluten Free Snickerdoodle Cookies

Gluten-Free Flour Mix:

  • Mix 3 1/2 cups sorghum flour and 8 ounces of cornstarch together. Store in a container until you need it.

Cinnamon-Sugar Coating

  • 2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Mix together well.

Dough Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups + 2 tablespoons sorghum flour/cornstarch mix
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons Pearl Millet flour (can use soy flour)
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Mix dry ingredients (except sugar) together in a bowl. Set aside.
  2. Cream butter and sugar until smooth.
  3. Add eggs. Beat until fluffy.
  4. Add in the dry ingredients and mix well.
  5. Chill dough for about 10 minutes.
  6. Make the cinnamon-sugar. Then preheat the oven to 400° F .
  7. Scoop out the dough using a 1/2 tablespoon measuring spoon. Roll dough into small balls.
  8. Then roll the balls in the cinnamon-sugar.
  9. Bake at 400° F for 6 to 10 minutes depending on your oven and baking sheet. If the cookies are not done after 6 minutes, check every 1 minute until done. Do not over bake.
  10. Let cool completely on the cookie sheet before removing.

¸.♥´Mom

Resources
Look for Sorghum flour in any health food store or in the health food section of any grocery store.

Look for Pearl Millet flour (bajiri flour) at any Indian store.
Both flours can be purchased online.

Notes
This recipe is a slight modification of the one developed by Amy Perry’s  Snickerdoodles Cookies.

