Tags

Dearest Iron Chefettes,

Quinoa is such a wonderfully nutritious food. alHamdulillah. Here’s what I learned from experience about preparing and cooking it.

Français : Quinoa cuit.

Image via Wikipedia

Rinsing Qunioa
It’s important to rinse quinoa before cooking it. Rinsing it removes that funny bitter taste.

  • Measure quinoa and put in a fine metal strainer.
  • Soak it in a bowl of water for about 15 minutes.
  • Remove from water. Rinse quinoa under running water until the water runs clear. Drain.

Cooking Qunioa
I’ve discovered that quinoa tastes better when cooked slowly and with less than the usually recommended amount of liquid. Most recipes say to use 2 cups of liquid for every cup of quinoa and cook for 15 minutes.

Here is what I do:

  • 1 part quinoa
    1 ½ parts liquid (I have read where even 1¼ can be used)
    salt
  • Add quinoa, liquid and salt to a pan. Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low. Simmer for about 20 – 30 minutes, until water is absorbed. Stir occasionally to keep it from burning.

Remove from heat and let the quinoa sit covered for about 5 minutes. Then fluff with a fork.

Liquids for Cooking Quinoa
Quinoa has to be cooked in a liquid. Water works fine. But I like to flavor mine with broth. And I choose the broth based on the finished flavor I’m trying to achieve. So sometimes I use chicken, sometimes beef, and sometimes a chicken-beef combo.

Spicing Up Quinoa
Sometimes I use spices to give the quinoa more flavor.

Recipes

Mom’s Quinoa Breakfast

South of the Border Shirred Egg Breakfast

Epicurious

Black-Bean-and-Tomato-Quinoa
Little Quinoa Patties

Whole Foods

Quinoa Tabbouleh Salad
Quinoa Pilaf with Dried Cranberries and Almonds (I sub raisins for cranberries)

Other

Ancient Harvest Quinoa Recipe Site
Moroccan-Style Quinoa

¸.♥´Mom

