And it is He [Allah] Who has created man from water . . .  And your Lord is Ever All-Powerful to do what He will. (Al-Furqan 25:54)

Dear Honey Bees,

Do you get enough water? Do you know how much is enough?

Without enough water, we suffer chronic pains in muscles and joints, lower back pain, headaches, and dizziness. Water is also key to nice looking skin. And children who don’t drink enough become tired and sleepy (and uncooperative).

Thirst isn’t always a reliable indicator of the body’s need for water, especially in children and older adults, according to most medical experts.

So how much water do we need?

The Institute of Medicine advises that women drink 9 cups (about 2.2 liters) of total beverages a day—Water: How much should you drink every day? – MayoClinic.com

However, my doctor told me that the ideal is to drink about half my body weight in ounces of water each day. So, a 200-pound person, for example, needs 100 ounces of water, about 13 cups.

To make the task less mundane, I bought a pretty stainless steel water bottle. It holds about 30 ounces. I know exactly how many bottles per day I need. I don’t have to guess, wonder, or compute, which makes life so much easier!

As always, check with your health care provider about the amount of water that is right for you as this is not intended as medical advice.

¸.♥´Mom

