It’s windy today! Very gusty! Things are being tossed around out side. I’m thankful I’m not out in it. I’m sure I would be tossed around as well.

Weather like this reminds me of two things: Allah, and your grandfather.

I’m reminded of Allah because . . .

We have to seek Allah’s help in all matters. No human can start or stop the wind or windstorms.

Ubayy bin Ka’b narrated that Allah’s Messenger said, “Do not curse the wind.”

Wikimedia Image

Wikimedia Image

Cursing the wind is like cursing the time. In reality, it goes back to offending Allah, because Allah is the One Who directs the wind however He wills. Cursing the wind is by abusing it—reviling it with evil. It is not considered curing it that it is described as being harsh or with characteristics that contain evil for whomever it (the wind) come to. [Interpretation of Kitab at Tauhid. Salih Aali Shaikh. Darussalam Pub.]

I’m reminded of your grandfather because . . .

I looked outside at a 20-foot round puddle of water from the window. As the wind blows, it makes the water’s surface ripple. And this causes groups of triangular waves of reflected sunlight to dance about. It is that synchronized rippling reflection that makes me think of my father.

Your grandfather enjoyed taking his young family out for fishing trips. I loved sitting next to him while watching the casted out lines for bites.

What I mostly saw was sunshine bouncing off short choppy waves as the wind blew. And my little red and white cork bobbing frantically in the water.

(Your) Grandpa always had a certain smell that I truly found to be a comfort. He smelled good; it was an earthy sweetness. I think it was from searching for and digging up worms to use as bait. And from touching the soil the worms made. And from sitting outside in the sun, and wind.

His scent always made me sleepy. And so did watching the water. I usually dozed off sitting on his lap, or leaned up against his side, or on a blanket next to him.

I am both surprised and amazed that today’s breeze conjured up these memories and emotions. It is, for me at least, some of the goodness that comes from today’s weather.

By the way, it’s a good idea to marry someone who shares many of the childhood experiences and values as you whenever possible. This way, you won’t be taken far off course from the life you are familiar with living—unless the new path is upward.

Make du’aa today. It’s very windy.

¸.♥´Mom

Du’aa said during a wind storm

‘O Allaah, I ask You for it’s goodness and I take refuge with You from it’s evil.’

Allahumma innee as-aluka khayraha wa-aAAoothu bika min sharriha.

Audio for Du’aa ↑ and ↓
http://downloads.trinimuslims.com/Misc/hisnulmuslim/HisnulMuslim-061-Invocations_for_when_the_wind_blow.mp3%20

‘O Allaah, I ask You for it’s goodness, the good within it, and the good it was sent with, and I take refuge with You from it’s evil, the evil within it, and from the evil it was sent with.’

Allahumma innee as-aluka khayraha wakhayra ma feeha, wakhayra ma orsilat bih, wa-aAAoothu bika min sharriha, washarri ma feeha washarri ma orsilat bih.

