Dear D’s,

Hope the family enjoys our new hand-made felt coasters! We really needed them too!

They were very simple to make. The hardest part was creating the pattern. I made it based on an Arabic geometric shape that I saw in a library book I currently have (here). Once the pattern was done, the rest was easy.

Here are the steps I took:

  1. Create paper pattern.
  2. Fold a sheet of felt in half.
  3. Place pattern on top of felt (to cut out 2 pieces) & pin down.
  4. Cut out.
  5. Keeping pieces stacked, pin along the inner spaces away from edges.
  6. Sew the edges together using a plain stitch; can also hand sew.
  7. Remove pins.
  8. Sew decorative stitching using the sewing machine.
  9. Trim edges as needed.

I plan to make more in larger sizes and in different shapes insha’Allah.

¸.♥´Mom

         

