Dearests,

More great spiritual guidance on happiness from Chapter 4. “Forgetting the Unpleasant Things That Have Passed”

ღ♥´Mom`♥ღ

Useful Ways of Leading a Happy Life
Shaykh ‘Abdur-Rahman ibn Nasir ibn ‘Abdullah as-Sa’di

Reading: Chapter 4 Part 2

Amongst the most beneficial things to do concerning the future of one’s affairs is to be saying the du’a that the Prophet used to say:

‘Allahumma asli’h li dini al-lathi howa ‘ismatu amri;

wa asli’h li dunyaya al-lathi fiha ma’ashi; wa asli’h li akhirati al-lati ilaiha ma’adi; waj’al al’hayata ziyadatan li fi kulli khair wal mauta ra’hatan li min kulli shar.

O Allah! Make my religion, which is my strength and my invincibility, good for me; make my world, wherein is my livelihood, good for me; and make my hereafter, which is my final abode, good for me; and make my living, an increase for me, all that is good; and make my death a repose for me from every evil.

Also the du’a:

O Allah, I invoke You for Your Mercy.

Please do not make me reliant on myself even for an instant, and set aright for me all my affairs.

Verily, there is no deity worthy of worship except You.

If the slave says this du’a which entails seeking the betterment of his future —both in his religion and worldly affairs— if he says the du’a with a mindful and aware heart, and a true and sincere intention, coupled with an earnest struggle to achieve it, Allah will definitely materialize for him what he asked for, and had hoped in, and struggled to achieve.

As a result of this, his worry will change to happiness and delight.

Assignments

  • Choose a project from below and base it on today’s reading:
    –Construct a bulletin board
    –Construct a mobile
    –Crossword puzzle(s) or vocabulary list(s)
    –Make an outline of the book
    –Make a poster, collage, photo board, or scrapbook page
    –Write a poem about an idea or concept from today’s topic
    –Use a paragraph as copy work or calligraphy project
    –Or create a project of your own liking

Vocabulary Words: reliant, invincibility

Choose one (1) of the items to answer in your Learning Journal:

  • What is your favorite part of today’s reading? Why?
  • What new thing did you learn (or re-learn) today?

Answer any four (4) of the following questions in your Learning Journal:

  • #1 List a benefit you gained from today’s reading.
  • #2 What is the purpose of either of the du’a?
  • #3 What goes along with saying the du’a?
  • #4 How does Allah help when we make du’a?
  • #5 Name the other strategy to achieve happiness?
  • #6 Why in the second du’a do we ask Allah to not rely our ourselves?

Activities. Do each of the following:

Du’a Efforts Activity: Choose a line from the first du’a that is meaningful to you. Make a list of ways in which you make an effort to achieve your selection. For example, “make my world, wherein is my livelihood, good for me,” Brainstorm ways to earn a livelihood and what you need to achieve that goal. Design a worksheet for this activity.

Worry Check-In: We have learned many ways to be happy since starting this book. Now is a good time to see how you have been doing. Find a quiet space this week. Bring along a pen and your journal. Think deeply on that state of your happiness. Have you experienced a positive shift in mood? Do you find yourself worrying less and feeling happier? If so, write about it. How do you feel? What do you experience day-to-day. What has been the most difficult? The easiest? Which concept/idea has helped you the most? Write as much or as little as you want.

Internal Activity: We learned in today’s reading that success in du’a requires that we make “the du’a with a mindful and aware heart, and a true and sincere intention”. Think about it. What have you read from authentic sources on how to do those three things? Write a small summary if you have read something about it. If not, spend some time over the next two weeks finding, reading, and summarizing in writing sincerity, mindfulness and awareness of the heart from an Islamic perspective. Keep in mind to ask those of knowledge if you do not know.

